en EN fr FR

Governance Structure

The APEVAC governance structure consists of the Executive Council, APEVAC Secretariat, and a Technical Advisory Group.


Executive Council

The Executive Council (EC) is the top decision making authority of the African Partnership to End Violence against Children (APEVAC). The EC oversees the functions of the Partnership’s Secretariat and provides strategic leadership guidance to the Secretariat of the Partnership with a longer-term perspective as well as defining the broad outlines of the Partnership’s areas of interventions. The Council also makes final decisions on the Partnership’s programme of action and its budget and staffing requirements. The Council members, given their prominent profile, will support the Partnership in mobilising resources and having greater visibility, as well as being its ambassadors within their respective areas of work and region. The EC comprises of representatives of Governments, the Regional Economic Communities, Pan-African, sub-regional, national and international organisations with the dedication to and experience in addressing violence against children in Africa. Currently, the EC comprises of Twelve members:

Dr Joan Nyanyuki
Chair of APEVAC, Executive Council, ACPF
Mr Fred Ngabirano
The commissioner for Children and Youth Affairs, Ministry of Gender Labor and Social Development, Republic of Uganda
Ms Edith Bardel
Child protection officer, Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Violence against Children Department of Operational Support
Ms Raheemat Momodu
Head Human Security and Civil Society Division Directorate of Humanitarian and Social Affairs Department of Social Affairs and Gender ECOWAS Commission
Honorable Aver Gevar
Special Rapporteur on Violence against Children, Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACERWC)
Mr Ridhiwani R Ridhiwani
The African Movement of Working Children and Youth
Mr Ali Andrew Madugu
Child Development Director Federal Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development, Federal Republic of Nigeria
Mr Stephen Niyonzima
Acting Director of Social Affairs,EAC Secretariat
Ms Duduzile Simelane
Directorate of Social and Human Development SADC Secretariat
Ms Stella Ayo-Odongo
| Pathfinding Director | End Violence Partnership
Ms Doris Mpoumou
Director/ AU Representative Save the Children African Union Liaison & pan Africa Programme Office
Ms Lydia Nyesigomwe
Vice Chair Board of Directors Uganda Child Rights NGO Network

Advisory Group

The Advisory Group [AG] is a group that is constituted on a need-by-need basis to provide technical assistance to the Secretariat on various thematic issues in the realization of its core function of catalysing collective action to stopping violence against children in Africa. The advisory group is, therefore, an action-oriented group with wide representation comprising experts and/or professionals in the different fields of child rights. The AG is mandated to provide strategic guidance and technical advice to the Secretariat on matters related to strategic direction, programme priority setting, policy advocacy, partnership mobilisation and engagement matters.

H.E. Mrs Cisse Mariama Mohamed
Director, Social Affairs Department, African Union Commission
Mrs Mmamiki Gaolatlhe Kamanakao
Chairperson, National Children’s Council, Republic of Botswana
Mrs Amal Muhammad El Henqari
Member, ACERWC (2013-to 2018)
Honorouble Anna Maembe
Member of ACERWC
Professor Shanaaz Mathews
Director, Children's Institute, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Professor Atangcho Nji Akonumbo
Professor of Law, University of Yaounde II. Dean, Faculty of Laws and Political Science, University of Buea, Cameroon.
Advocate Bience P. Gawanas
Under-Secretary-General, Special Adviser on Africa to the UN Secretary General (2018 - 2020); Commissioner for Social Affairs, African Union (2002 - 2012)
Professor Fatima-Zohra Sebaa-Delladj
Professor, Department of Psychology and Speech-Language Pathology, Faculty of Social Sciences, Mohamed Ben Ahmed Oran 2 University, Algeria; Member, ACERWC (2010-2015)
Mr Mohamadou Lamine Cissé
President of the AfricaWide Movement for Children (AMC); Head, International Observatory for Democracy and the Prevention of Crisis and Conflict (OIDEC), Dakar, Senegal
Honourable Théophane Nikyéma
Member of the ACERWC, President, International Bureau of Children’s Rights (IBCR); Executive Director, ACPF (2013-2018)
Mr. Deogratias Yiga
Executive Director, Impact and Innovations Development Centre (IIDC)
Dr Jaja Cheedy
Associate Professor, College of Nursing, University of South Carolina, Columbia

The Secretariat

Under the overall leadership of the Executive Council, ACPF provides secretariat services to African Partnership to End Violence against Children and is running the programmatic, financial and administrative functions of the Partnership.

Africa Avenue (Bole Rd),
Next to Alem Building #2, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

  • Email: secretariat@endviolenceinafrica.org
  • Phone:+251 116 628192
  • Fax: +251 116 628200

Photo Stream

© Copyright 2021. Partnership to End Violence Against Children in Africa